South Australia roads

South Australia

The state has changed its shielded route numbering system, which was used in the past and into a new alphanumeric style. Before the alphanumeric style, the state had been using the Nation Route system of NAASRA which. NR8 was the first national route in the state, and the year after that, the Stuart highway was designated as NR20 while Princes Highway was designated as NR1. The plan in place for the National Routes was implemented across the board except with NR83. Later in the 1980s, South Australia made the decision to extend two State routes from Victoria, which stopped at the border of the two states. The signposting for these routes was poorly done, and the same thing also happened with some Tourist Route. Adelaide metropolitan did not have a numbering system, and the two routes that were within the limits of the city were National Routes 1 & 20, and both routes are actually interstate routes. In 1998, the government decided to initiate the alphanumeric numbering system, which would replace the National Routes finally. However, there are still remnants of the old system. With the new alphanumeric system, more routes well signposted and numbered, which will help tourists and interstate travellers to find their way around the state more easily. With this new initiative, the national routes still had their old numbers, and they now only have new classifications. South Australia is using only the A, B and M classification of its route. This alphanumeric system is in different categories.

Alphanumeric routes

That are active in the state include

Princes Highway (including South Eastern Freeway)

Eyre Highway

Port Wakefield Road & Port Wakefield-Port Augusta Road

Dukes Highway

Portrush Road, Lower Portrush Road, Ascot Ave, Taunton Road & Hampstead Road

Stuart Highway

Sturt Highway & Northern Expressway

Grand Junction Road

longest straight road in Australia

There are also other alphanumeric routes which are the routes that do not carry the national highway shield;

Glen Osmond Road & Main North Road (Adelaide)

Cross Road

Southern Expressway

Part of Anzac Highway & Greenhill Road

Port Road

Sir Donald Bradman Drive & Kensington Road

Port River Expressway

Lower North East Rd

North East Rd/Torrens Valley Scenic Drive

Salisbury Highway/South Road/Main South Road/Victor Harbour Road

Noarlunga to Port Adelaide

Mallee Highway

Marion Road/Holbrooks Road

Grand Junction Road

Barossa Valley Way

Kings Rd/McIntyre Road

Cavan Rd/Churchill Road

Adelaide Ring Route

Main South Road/Kangaroo Island

Adelaide Hills route

Myponga to Williamstown

Murray Bridge - Mannum – Palmer

Murray Bridge to Mount Crawford

Mt Barker to Delamere

Peterborough to Port Augusta (part of former National Route 56)

Wellington to Strathalbyn

Berri to Crystal brook (former National Route 64)

Riddoch Highway

Warnertown to Ucolta via Jamestown & Peterborough

Jamestown to Hallett

Clare to Hawker via Jamestown

Stirling North to Lyndhurst via Hawker

Port Wakefield to Wallaroo

Warooka to Ardrossan via Edithburgh

Yorke Peninsula

Port Pirie to Wallaroo

Cowell to Elliston via Lock

Todd Highway

And lots more


Contact Us

© 2021. OZRoads. All rights reserved.